Elafonisi

L'ile d'Elafonisi

 

Elafonisi, dans le Sud-Ouest de la Crète est devenue une destination très populaire pour de nombreux touristes qui déferlent dans ce coin de paradis en voiture, en bus ou en bateau.
Le principal attrait d'Elafonisi est le sentiment unique d'être dans un lagon des mers du Sud. Malheureusement, la popularité d'Elafonisi a supprimé un autre facteur principal dans l'attraction: la beauté sauvage d'un lieu désert. En été, vous trouverez des chaises longues serrées le long de la plage et des centaines de personnes se baignant dans les eaux chaudes du lagon.

Mais il est encore possible d'obtenir un goût de solitude en allant en traversant le bras d'eau (jamais bien profond) pour aller sur l'île qui est une réserve naturelle protégée: chaises longues et parasols ne sont pas autorisés. Continuez à marcher un peu le long de la plage et cherchez une petite crique plus tranquille. Vous ne serez peut- être pas complètement seul, mais vous serez loin de la foule.

 

 

Une autre solution pour voir Elafonisi à l'ètat sauvage est bien sûr de visiter hors saison. De fin Octobre à Avril ce sera probablement aurtèssi dèse que sur la photo ci-dessus.

 

L'attraction principale d'Elafonisi sont les plages et les eaux cristallines de la mer et de la lagune. . Les plages sont de sable fin, parfois mélangé de corail rose.
Comme Elafonisi est situé dans un coin reculé de la Crète vous aurez également un sens de nature sauvage, étant loin de tout. Malheureusement, s'il vous visitez en plein été, vous ne serez pas loin de centaines (voire de milliers) d'autres personnes qui auront eu la même idée que vous ce jour-là. Mais ne désespérez pas ... vous pourrez toujours échapper à la foule en marchant un peu plus loin. La plupart des gens sont trop paresseux pour s'aventurer loin d'où ils ont garé leur voiture.

Allez vous promener sur l'île. Traversez la lagune (en général vous aurez de l'eau jusqu'au genoux, voir mi-cuisse mais parfois le canal se ferme et vous pouvez aller l'île sans avoir à vous mouiller les pieds). Il y a de nombreuses petites plages sur le côté Sud et plus vous vous éloignerez, plus ce sera calme. L'eau est généralement peu profonde et sûre pour les enfants..
À l'extrémité ouest de l'île il ya un promontoire avec un petit phare, et une chapelle (de peu d'intérêt). Êtant un peu plus en hauteure, vous aurez de belles vues des environs.

Sable de corail - Le sable rose et rouge qui se dépose sur le bord de l'eau est produit par la grande quantité de petits coquillages rouges et roses moulus par l'action de la mer.

Plantes et fleurs - Elafonisi est une zone protégée (site Natura 2000 ainsi qu'une micro-réserve pour la protection et l'étude d' Androcymbium rechingeri). Cette petite île abrite 110 espèces de plantes et est un rêve pour tous ceux qui s'intéressent à la botanique. Les plus notables sont les Lys de mer, Androcymbium rechingeri, Ammophilia arenaria et des Genévriers endémiques..

Services pour les visiteurs - Comme vous arrivez à Elafonisi par la route, vous devrez conduire un court tronçon de piste de terre jusqu'à la mer. Cela passe bien pour plupart des voitures, conduisez juste lentement. Il y a plusieurs parkings gratuits près de la plage.
La plage principale est plus ou moins couverte de chaises longues et parasols au cours de la saison touristique. Il y a quelques gargottes offrant des boissons et des collations. Toilettes, douches gratuites et quelques cabines de change sont également situées à proximité.

Sur l'île elle-même, il n'y a rien de ce genre, mais les Genévriers ont été cloturés (pour éviter d'être dérangé par les visiteurs) et quelques chemins ont été marqués (en particulier un chemin menant à la pointe ouest de l'île et le phare qui suit à proximité de la côte rocheuse au nord) pour décourager les gens d'aller piétiner les plantes..

Le gros des visiteurs vont à Elafonisi en voiture de location. La route la plus directe si vous venez de la côte Nord passe par Topolia et Elos. C'est une route assez étroite et sinueuse et vous ne pourrez pas rouler vite (vous aurez besoin d'au moins 80 minutes de Chania et une heure et demie de Kissamos). Il y a aussi une autre route qui suit (en surplomb) la côte ouest de la Crète. Elle offre de très belles vues mais elle prend un peu plus longtemps. C'est une bonne alternative si vous ne voulez pas retourner par la même route.

Vous pouvez également conduire de Paleochora, mais la voie la plus directe est en partie sur un chemin de terre et pas conseillée, sauf si vous avez une voiture 4x4. La route goudronnée qui passe elle aussi par Elos prend un peu plus d'une heure.

Si vous ne voulez pas conduire il y a quelques bus publics de La Canée durant la saison touristique. Vérifiez les horaires ici (vous ne verrez pas la connexion quand elle ne fonctionne pas c'est à dire si vous regardez les horaires hors saison).

Un certain nombre d'excursions organisées en bus ont également lieu à partir de stations balnéaires sur la côte nord de la Crète. Vérifiez à votre hôtel ou centre de villégiature ce qui est proposé.

Finalement , vous pouvez également aller à Elafonisi en bateau de Paléochora. Le bateau quitte Paléochora à 10.00 heures du matin et revient à environ 16.00 heures à partir d'Elafonisi. Le trajet dure environ une heure, est plus relaxant que la conduite et vous donne de belles vues sur la côte. Le bateau ne partira pas si les conditions de mer sont mauvaises, donc il est préférable de vérifier sur place la veille au soir.

Il y a peu d'endroits pour séjourner à Elafonisi ou à proximité et il vaut mieux réserver à l'avance si vous voulez être sûrs de trouver quelque chose.
La plupart des visiteurs viennent juste pour la journée. Cela signifie que si vous restez à proximité, vous aurez la tranquillité dans la soirée une fois que le gros des visiteurs seront partis.

Elafonisi est une zone protégée (site Natura 2000 ainsi qu'une micro-réserve pour la protection et l'étude d'Androcymbium rechingeri) et le camping n'est pas autorisé (et pas toléré).

Elafonisi est très exposé aux vents de toutes directions. Vent fort et sable fin ne font pas une bonne combinaison il est donc préférable d'éviter d'aller à Elafonisi par jour de grand vent. La station météorologique la plus proche pour vérifier les conditions en temps réel est à Paleochora.

Les mois d'été sont les mois les plus fréquentés, en particulier en Août. Le printemps (Avril et Mai) est plus calme, mais la mer est encore un peu froide. Le calme revient considérablement à partir de début Octobre et la mer est encore bien chaude.
Le meilleur moment de visiter Elafonisi serait après la fin de la saison touristique (premiers jours de Novembre) où vous aurez l'endroit plus ou moins pour vous seuls.

Si vous voulez voir l'importante population de Lys de mer venez visiter entre la fin Août et la fin Septembre. Les très rares Androcymbium rechingeri fleurissent de Décembre à fin Janvier sur la partie surélevée de l'île.

Evitez les journées très chaudes, car il n'y a presque pas d'ombre sur l'île (et les parasols ne sont pas autorisés afin de ne pas perturber le système racinaire des plantes). Bien sûr, durant les journée très chaude, vous pouvez rester sur la plage principale et utiliser les parasols et chaises longues qui sont fournis là-bas.

La plage de Kedrodasos - Si vous trouvez qu'il y a trop de monde à Elafonisi marchez vers l'Est pendant environ 20 minutes en suivant la côte (il y a quelques petits sentiers) et vous arriverez sur une plage beaucoup plus calme avec une belle forêt de genévriers.

Plongée sous-marine - Elafonisi est un très bon endroit pour la plongée: l'eau est très claire et peu profonde (moins de 10m de profondeur) sur une grande distance.

Kitesurfing - les fréquents vents violents et l'existence d'un lagon protégé des vagues en font un bon endroit pour le kitesurfing. Je ne pense pas que ce soit possible en été car il y a trop de monde mais en hiver les kitesurfeurs locaux viennent s'amuser ici par grand vent.

Règlements à Elafonisi - Comme Elafonisi est une réserve naturelle protégée elle est soumise à un certain nombre de règles. Les principales sont: pas de camping, pas de feux, n'emmenez pas de sable,ne cueuillez pas de fleurs et n'utilisez pas de parasols sur l'île. Pour une vous de toutes les règles, cliquez sur ce lien.

Naufrage de l'Imperatrix - La mer autour d'Elafonisi est assez perfide et la région a eu sa part de naufrages. Le plus célèbre était celui de l'Imperatrix, un navire de ''Austrian Lloyd qui s'est échoué au large de l'île en 1907. Le phare a été construit après le naufrage (et remplacé par un autre plus moderne, après la Seconde Guerre mondiale). La chapelle situé près du phare sont dédiés à Agios Nikolaos (Saint Nicolas), saint patron des marins.


Voir Elafonisi sur une carte plus grande

 

 

Photos d'Elafonisi

Cliquez sur les photos pour agrandir. Utilisez ► et ◄ pour avancer.

  • The island of Elafonisi
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi
  • Sand dunes
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi
  • The island of Elafonisi
  • The island of Elafonisi seen from a distance whilst driving along the West coast
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi
  • The island of Elafonisi
  • A refreshing dip in the sea on Elafonisi island
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • The island of Elafonisi viewed from above
  • The island of Elafonisi viewed from above
  • The island of Elafonisi viewed from above
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • Walking over to the island
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi
  • Walking over to the island on the sandbar
  • Walking over to the island
  • Walking over to the island on the sandbar
  • Walking over to the island on the sandbar
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • Beach cafe on the 'mainland' beach
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • Tamarisk tree
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • View of the island  (note the memorial cross on the high point)
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi
  • Sand dune with Crithmum maritimumum the island of Elafonisi
  • View from the island towards the West
  • A shrine on the island's highpoint
  • The coast of the island- - looking towards the 'mainland'
  • The coast of the island- - looking towards the 'mainland'
  • Memorial cross on the island's high point - looking towards the 'mainland'
  • Walking along the coast of the island
  • The coast of the island- - looking towards the 'mainland' (shortened telephoto perspective)
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi
  • The island of Elafonisi
  • Tamarisk tree
  • Juniperus oxycedrus subsp. macrocarpa - Juniper
  • Seagull
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi
  • Small sand dunes
  • Shrine on the island of Elafonisi
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi

 

INFOS GENERALESSERVICESHEBERGEMENTIMMOBILIERDESTINATIONSEXCURSIONSRANDONNEESPHOTOSCARTE DU SITE MAPPUBLICITEEMAIL

 

Crete photo of the day
Crete Photo of the Day

Elafonisi - a visitor's guide

The island of Elafonisi

 

Elafonisi, in the South-West of Crete has become a very popular destination for day trippers who flood to this corner of paradise by car, bus or boat. Its main attraction to most tourists is the unique feeling of being in a South Seas lagoon whilst having a Mediterranean holiday.

Unfortunately the popularity of Elafonisi has removed another main factor in attraction: the wild beauty of a deserted place. In summer you will find sun beds tightly packed along the beach and hundreds of people enjoying the warm waters of the lagoon.

But it is still possible to get a taste of the wilderness: walk away from where the road ends, wade across the lagoon to the island (a protected nature reserve where no sun beds are allowed). Keep walking a little along the beach and look for a quiet cove. You may not be completely alone but you will have your peace.

 

 

Another solution to experience Elafonisi is of course to visit out of season. From late October to April it will probably look as pristine as in the photo above.

 

The main attraction of Elafonisi is the beautiful sandy beaches fringed with pink coral sand and the crystal clear waters of the sea and the lagoon. As it is located at a remote corner of Crete you also get a sense of wilderness, being far from everything. Unfortunately if you happen to visit at a busy time you won't be far from the hundreds (if not thousands) of people who had the same idea as you that day.
But do not despair... you can still escape the crowds by walking a little away from them. Most people are too lazy or unadventurous to venture far from where they parked their car.

Walk to the island! Wade through the knee deep water of the lagoon (sometimes the channel closes and you can walk all the way without having to get your feet wet) and head to the island. There are many small beaches on the South side and the further you walk the quieter it gets. The water is generally quite shallow and safe for children.
At the western end of the island there is a promontory with a small lighthouse, and chapel (of very little interest). Being a little higher up you can get some nice views of the whole area.

Coral sand - The pink and red sand that gets deposited along the water's edge is produced by the large amount of red and pink shells that get ground up by sea action.

Plant life and flowers - Elafonisi is a protected area (Natura 2000 site as well as a Micro-Reserve for the protection and study of Androcymbium rechingeri). The small island is home to 110 plant species and is a dream for anyone interested in botany. Most notable are Sea daffodils, Androcymbium rechingeri, Marram grass and endemic Juniper trees.

Amenities for visitors - As you get to Elafonisi by road you will need to drive a short stretch of dirt road down to the sea. This is OK for most cars, just drive slow. There is ample free parking space near the beach.
The main beach is more or less taken over by sun beds and umbrellas during the tourist season. There are a couple of beach bars providing drinks and snacks. Free toilets, showers and a few changing cabins are also located nearby.

On the island itself, there is nothing of that sort but the Juniper trees have been roped off (to prevent being disturbed by visitors) and some paths have been marked (especially a path leading to the western tip of the island and the lighthouse that follows close to the rocky north shore) to discourage people wandering about and trampling all over plants.

Most people seem to go to Elafonisi by hire car. The most direct road from the North coast passes through Topolia and Elos. It is a fairly narrow winding road so don't expect to be driving fast (you'll need at least 90 minutes from Chania, an hour from Kissamos). There is also another route that runs along and above the West coast of Crete. Beautiful views but it takes quite a bit longer. If you don't want to return by the Elos route you could choose this as a return route.

You can also drive from Paleochora but the most direct route is in part over a dirt road and not advisable unless you have a 4x4 car. The longer asphalted route which also passes through Elos takes a little over an hour.

If you don't want to drive there are a few public buses from Chania during the tourist season. Check the time-table here (you won't see the connection when it is not running i.e. if you look at the time-table out of season).

A number of organized bus excursions also take place from resorts on the North coast of Crete. Check at your hotel or resort what is on offer.

Finally you can also go by boat from Paleochora. The boat leaves Paleochora at 10.00 in the morning and returns at around 16.00 from Elafonisi. The trip takes around an hour, is more relaxing than driving and gives you good views of the coast. The boat will not run if sea conditions are bad so it is best to check locally the evening before.

There are not many places to stay in Elafonisi or nearby so make sure that you reserve a room if you want to be sure of finding something.
Most visitors will come on day trips. This means that if you stay nearby you will have peace and quiet in the evening hours once day trippers have left.

Elafonisi is a protected area (Natura 2000 site as well as a Micro-Reserve for the protection and study of Androcymbium rechingeri) and camping is not allowed (and not tolerated either).

Elafonisi is quite exposed to winds from all directions. Strong wind and fine sand do not make a good combination so it is best to avoid going to Elafonisi on very windy days. The nearest weather station to check real time conditions is at nearby Paleochora.

Summer months are the busiest months, especially in August. Spring (April and May) is quieter but the sea is still a little cold. Things quieten down considerably from early October and the sea is still very warm.
An even better time to visit Elafonisi would be after the end of the tourist season (first days in November) where you will have the place more or less to yourself.

If you want to see the large population of Sea Daffodils flower pay a visit in late August and September and make sure that you cross to the island where they are far more plentiful. The very rare Androcymbium rechingeri flowers from December to late January on the elevated part of the island.

Avoid very hot days as there is almost no shade on the island (and umbrellas are not allowed so as not to disturb the root system of the plants). Of course on a very hot day you can stick to the mainland beach and use the umbrellas and sun beds that are provided there.

Kedrodasos beach - If you find Elafonisi too crowded for your taste walk for about 20 minutes (more or less along the coast, you'll find some paths) towards the East and you will get to much quieter beaches with a beautiful Juniper forest.

Snorkelling - Elafonisi is a very good place for snorkelling: the water is very clear and quite shallow (less than 10m deep) for a long way

Kite surfing - Frequent high winds and the existence of a lagoon protected from waves make it a good place for kite surfing. I am not sure that this would take place in summer when there are too many people around but in winter local kite surfers will drive down from the North coast to practice their skills. Good fun to watch.

Rules and regulations in Elafonisi - As a protected nature reserve the area of Elafonisi is subject to a number of rules. The main ones are no camping, no fires, don't collect sand or flowers and not to use umbrellas on the island. For a full set of rules click on the link above.

Shipwreck of the Imperatrix - The sea around Elafonisi is quite treacherous and the area has had its share of shipwrecks, the most famous one was the Austro Lloyd Steam Ship Imperatrix which ran aground off the island in 1907. Not much is left of it unless you go and dive but the lighthouse was built after the wreck (and replaced with a more modern one after WWII). The chapel (as well as a shrine) located near the lighthouse are dedicated to Agios Nikolaos (St. Nicholas), patron saint of sailors.


View Elafonisi in a larger map

 

 

Photos of Elafonisi

Click on images to enlarge. Use the ► and ◄ to move forward or back or click again to close

  • The island of Elafonisi
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi
  • Sand dunes
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi
  • The island of Elafonisi
  • The island of Elafonisi seen from a distance whilst driving along the West coast
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi
  • The island of Elafonisi
  • A refreshing dip in the sea on Elafonisi island
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • The island of Elafonisi viewed from above
  • The island of Elafonisi viewed from above
  • The island of Elafonisi viewed from above
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • Walking over to the island
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi
  • Walking over to the island on the sandbar
  • Walking over to the island
  • Walking over to the island on the sandbar
  • Walking over to the island on the sandbar
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • Beach cafe on the 'mainland' beach
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • Tamarisk tree
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • View of the island  (note the memorial cross on the high point)
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • Sunbeds on the 'mainland' beach
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi
  • Sand dune with Crithmum maritimumum the island of Elafonisi
  • View from the island towards the West
  • A shrine on the island's highpoint
  • The coast of the island- - looking towards the 'mainland'
  • The coast of the island- - looking towards the 'mainland'
  • Memorial cross on the island's high point - looking towards the 'mainland'
  • Walking along the coast of the island
  • The coast of the island- - looking towards the 'mainland' (shortened telephoto perspective)
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi
  • The island of Elafonisi
  • Tamarisk tree
  • Juniperus oxycedrus subsp. macrocarpa - Juniper
  • Seagull
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi
  • Small sand dunes
  • Shrine on the island of Elafonisi
  • Beach on the island of Elafonisi

 

GENERAL INFOSERVICESACCOMMODATIONPROPERTYTOP DESTINATIONSEXCURSIONSWALKSPHOTOSSITE MAPADVERTISEEMAIL

 

Crete photo of the day
Crete Photo of the Day