Balos-Strand und Gramvousa - ein Ausflugsführer

Die Balos Bucht

 

Die Bucht von Balos und seine Lagune an der nördlichen Spitze der Landzunge von Gramvousa folgen den Fussstapfen von Elafonisi und Falasarna als Orte auf Kreta, die man besucht haben muss. Kein Wunder wenn man die idyllischen Bilder vom türkis farbenen Meer und dem weissen Sand sieht.

Wie auch in Elafonisi bringt die wachsende Popularität ihre Probleme mit sich: zu viele Besucher, die die Atmosphäre verderben. Wen das stört, findet Wege, die grosse Menschenmasse zu vermeiden (siehe weiter unten: Die beste Zeit). Und wen es nicht stört, soll Balos besuchen, es ist es auf jeden Fall wert.

Es gibt zwei Möglichkeiten, nach Balos zu kommen: auf dem Landweg und übers Meer (mit einem Ausflugsboot von Kissamos aus, ausser Sie haben Ihr eigenes Boot). Beide Wege sind weiter unten separat beschrieben.

 

Die Bucht von Balos ist einfach atemberaubend und eines der bekanntesten Bildern von Westkreta. Wenn Sie mit dem Auto hinfahren, müssen Sie ungefähr 10 Minuten zu Fuss gehen, bis Sie den ersten Blick von der Bucht und der Halbinsel Tigani erhaschen. Die Reaktion der meisten Leute ist: WOW! Man braucht 20 bis 30 Minuten auf einem einfachen Pfad vom Parkplatz aus bis hinunter zum Strand.

Die Hauptattraktion von Balos ist der schöne Sandstrand, das klare türkis farbene Meerwasser und die überwältigende natürliche Umgebung. Aber die Atmosphäre hängt auch sehr davon ab, wie viele andere Leute an diesem Tag die gleiche Idee wie Sie hatten. Der Strand ist nicht sehr gross und wenn die Boote ihre Passagiere ausgeladen haben, ist sehr viel los.

Spaziergang auf die Halbinsel Tigani – Sie können entweder durch ein wenig Wasser waten (manchmal ist es nicht nötig, Wasser zu durchqueren, das ändert sich von Saison zu Saison und von Jahr zu Jahr) oder Sie folgen den Felsen auf der Südwest-Seite der Lagune, um zur Halbinsel Tigani zu kommen. Ausser einer kleinen Kapelle gibt es nicht viel da, aber man kann auf den flachen Gipfel hinaufsteigen, von wo man ausgezeichnete Ausblicke auf die ganze Gegend hat und zudem den Massen von Leuten entfliehen kann. Dazu gehen Sie bis zur Kapelle und von da steigen Sie den Nordost-Hang hoch.

Die Lagune – Schönes Wasser und in der Regel sehr warm (sogar im Frühjahr), da es sehr seicht ist. Leider hat es manchmal einen üblen Geruch, wenn sich organisches Material in der Lagune ansammelt. Das ist ganz natürlich, aber nicht sehr angenehm.

Einrichtungen für Besucher – Während der Touristen-Saison (von April bis Ende Oktober) finden Sie ein Strand-Café, ein paar Toiletten, sowie Sonnenschirme und Liegestühle. Der Müll wird eingesammelt und der Strand generell ziemlich sauber gehalten.

Um nach Balos zu gelangen müssen Sie entlang der Nordküsten-Strasse und durch den Ort Kissamos fahren. Sie kommen am Hafen von Kissamos (2,5km westlich vom Ort) vorbei. Etwa 1,5km nach dem Hafen biegen Sie rechts ab auf eine kleine Strasse, die nach Kaliviani führt (Es gibt ein Schild an der Kreuzung.) Fahren Sie durch das Dorf hindurch und folgen Sie der Strasse Richtung Norden. Die Strasse wird bald zu einer Schotterstrasse, aber im Gegensatz zu was viele Leute sagen, ist sie für normale Autos gut befahrbar, wenn Sie langsam fahren und auf Löcher und Steine achten. Beachten Sie aber auch, dass sehr wahrscheinlich Schäden an Reifen oder der Unterseite des Autos von der Versicherung ihres Mietautos nicht gedeckt sind.

Folgen Sie dieser Schotterstrasse für knapp 8 km bis zum Ende der Strasse, wo Sie ihr Auto parken können. Im Sommer kann dieser „Parkplatz“ sehr voll werden, sodass Sie ihr Auto etwas weiter weg abstellen müssen. Von dort folgen Sie dem Pfad bis nach Balos, ein etwa 20 bis 30 minütiger einfacher Abstieg. Der Aufstieg ist weniger einfach und viel heisser.

Seit 2013 muss man während der Touristen-Saison (von April bis Oktober) eine Gebühr von 1 Euro pro Person bezahlen, die von der Gemeinde Kissamos für die Benutzung der Strasse erhoben wurde. Sie wird für die Unterhaltung und Protektion der Gegend eingesetzt.

Auf der Strasse kann es an gewissen Tagen sehr viel Verkehr geben, wenn Hunderte von Fahrzeugen nach Balos fahren. Fahren Sie also langsam und schliessen Sie die Fenster, um den Staub draussen zu lassen.

Momentan (Sommer 2016) wird darüber diskutiert, den Autoverkehr zu stoppen und dafür nur einen Busservice zwischen Kaliviani und Balos zu verwenden.

Es gibt einen neuen (Sommer 2015) öffentlichen Busservice, der mehrmals täglich während der Touristen-Saison zwischen Chania/Kissamos und Balos fährt. Genauere Informationen und Fahrplan finden Sie auf der Webseite vom KTEL (oder rufen Sie an).

Der Hauptvorteil wenn Sie mit dem Auto gehen ist, dass Sie von Fahrplänen unabhängig sind und dass Sie morgens früh gehen können, um die Massen von Leuten zu vermeiden. Die grossen Massen kommen mit den Ausflugsbooten. Balos ist viel angenehmer, wenn es nicht so voll ist und noch viel besser im Winter, wenn es praktisch menschenleer ist. Aber es ist dafür nicht möglich, die Insel von Imeri Gramvousa und die venezianische Festung zu besuchen, was man nur mit einem Ausflugsboot machen kann.

Der grösste Teil der Besucher von Gramvousa und Balos kommen per Boot auf einer Tagesfahrt. Sie können entweder zum Hafen von Kissamos fahren und dort das Boot nehmen oder eine Tour in vielen Orten auf Kreta buchen. Ein Bus wird Sie von ihrem Hotel abholen, Sie zum Hafen und am Abend wieder zurück zum Hotel bringen.

Eine Tagesfahrt mit dem Boot ist sehr passend und natürlich perfekt, wenn Sie Bootsfahrten mögen. Aber seien Sie sich bewusst, dass Sie einen Teil von einer grossen Masse sein werden. Die grössten Boote können bis zu 1200 Passagiere aufnehmen. Sie werden Balos also nicht unter den idealsten Bedingungen erleben, aber es ist alles eine Frage des Geschmacks und wenn Sie der Massentourismus nicht stört, ist es eine sehr gute Option.

Es ist möglich den ganzen Weg von Kaliviani bis nach Balos zu Fuss zu gehen, aber es sind gute 8 km auf einer Schotterstrasse und wenn Sie nicht gerade im Winter gehen, werden ständig Autos an Ihnen vorbeifahren und Staub aufwirbeln. Es ist also nicht empfehlenswert.

Eine Alternative ist eine Wanderung von Falasarna nach Balos der Westseite von der Landzunge von Gramvousa entlang. Das ist eine lange (6-7 stündige) und schwierige Wanderung.

Sie können auch vom Parkplatz (oberhalb von Balos) aus eine nette Wanderung Richtung Norden unternehmen. Sie können bis zur Spitze von der Landzunge gehen, zum Kap Vouxa und dem kurzen Wasserkanal, der die Landzunge von der Insel Agria Gramvousa trennt. Der markierte Weg bietet tolle Aussichten auf Balos und die Insel Gramvousa und Sie können definitiv den grossen Menschenmassen entfliehen.

Wenn Sie unten am Strand von Balos sind, können Sie auch auf den oberen flachen Teil der Halbinsel Tigani hoch steigen, von wo Sie wunderschöne Ausblicke über die ganze Gegend haben.

Die Bootsausflüge operieren nur während der Touristen-Saison von April bis Oktober. Vermeiden Sie stürmische Tage, an denen die Bootsfahrt ziemlich rau werden kann oder annulliert wird.

Balos ist viel schöner und hat viel mehr Atmosphäre in den Wintermonaten, wenn Sie mit grosser Wahrscheinlichkeit die einzige Person weit und breit sind. Falls das nicht möglich ist und Sie trotzdem etwas Ruhe und Frieden geniessen möchten, versuchen Sie möglichst früh morgens nach Balos zu fahren. Wenn die Boote ankommen und die vielen Hunderten von Tagesbesuchern am Strand ausladen, werden Sie um Ihren Platz kämpfen müssen.

Berücksichtigen Sie, dass der Aufstieg zurück zum Parkplatz ohne Schatten ist und im Sommer extrem heiss werden kann. Es ist ratsam, bis zum späten Nachmittag zu warten und dann hoch zu gehen.

 

 

Fotos von Balos und Gramvousa

  • The road to Balos
  • The road to Balos
  • Car park in the summer
  • Car roofs are comfortable for goats
  • Gramvousa mountain at sunrise
  • Sunrise boat ride in the lagoon of Balos
  • General view of the Bay of Balos and Tigani
  • View of the footpath down to Balos
  • View of the footpath down to Balos
  • View of the footpath down to Balos
  • General view of the Bay of Balos, Tigani and the islands of Gramvousa
  • General view of the Bay of Balos, Tigani and the islands of Gramvousa
  • Imeri Gramvousa
  • Imeri Gramvousa
  • Islands of Imeri and Agria Gramvousa
  • The Venetian fortress on Imeri Gramvousa
  • The Venetian fortress on Imeri Gramvousa
  • On the rocks between the beach and the peinsula of Tigani
  • On the rocks between the beach and the peinsula of Tigani
  • Chapel on Tigani
  • View of the coast from the top of Tigani
  • View of the coast from the top of Tigani
  • View of the coast from the top of Tigani
  • General view of the Bay of Balos and Tigani (in winter so no people)
  • General view of the Bay of Balos, Tigani and the islands of Gramvousa (in winter so no people)
  • General view of the Bay of Balos, Tigani and the islands of Gramvousa
  • The Balos lagoon
  • The lagoon of Balos
  • The lagoon of Balos
  • Early morning at Balos beach
  • General view from a mountain top
 

Photos of a boat excursion to Imeri Gramvousa

  • On the boat to Gramvousa
  • On the boat to Gramvousa
  • Following the coast of the peninsula
  • Ascending to the fortress
  • Ascending to the fortress
  • One of the boats anchored at Imeri Gramvousa
  • Ascending to the fortress
  • Old church within the fortress walls
  • Old church within the fortress walls
  • Visitors of the fortress
  • Visitors of the fortress
  • Looking down from the top
  • Looking down from the top
  • The crowds come back down
 

ALLGEMEINE INFOSDIENSTLEISTUNGNUNTERKUNFTSEHENSWÜRDIGKEITENWANDERNFOTOSBÜCHERKARTENEMAIL

 

Crete photo of the day
Crete Photo of the Day

Balos beach and Gramvoussa - a visitor's guide

The bay of Balos

 

The Bay of Balos and its lagoon at the northern tip of the peninsula of Gramvousa are quickly following in the footsteps of Elafonisi and Falasarna as places that you must visit when in Crete. No surprise when you see the idyllic photos of the turquoise sea fringed by white sand.

As in Elafonisi, its popularity is also bringing in its own problems: too many visitors spoil the place. If you mind, there are ways to avoid the crowds. And if you don't mind, then by all means, go and visit Balos, it's well worth it.

There are two ways to get to Balos: by road and by sea (unless you have your own boat it will have to be on a boat excursion from the town of Kissamos). Both are described separately below.

 

The Bay of Balos is simply stunning and is one of the iconic pictures of western Crete. If you get there by car you will have to walk about 10 minutes before getting your first glimpse of the bay and the peninsula of Tigani. Most people's first reaction is WOW!

Getting down to the beach takes about 20 to 30 minutes on an easy path from the car park.

The main attraction of Balos is the beautiful sandy beach, the clear turquoise water of the sea and the stunning natural surroundings. But the atmosphere will also be very depedent on how many other people had the same idea as you today. The beach is not huge and when the boats disgorge their passengers it gets very busy.

Walk to the peninsula of Tigani - You can either wade though a little bit of water (sometimes there is no need to cross water, this changes from season to season and from year to year) or follow a line of rocks on the south-western side of the lagoon to reach the peninsula of Tigani. Apart from a small chapel there is not much on it but you can walk to the flat top (head for the chapel and carry on upwards along the north-eastern slope) where you will get excellent views of the area. You will also escapes the crowds (if there are any).

The lagoon - Beautiful water and generally very warm (even early in the year) because it is very shallow. Unfortunately it can be smelly as organic material stays in the lagoon. It's all natural but not always very pleasant.

Amenities for visitors - During the tourist season (from April until the end of October) you will find a beach café, a few toilets as well as umbrellas and sunbeds. The rubbish also gets collected and the beach is generally kept reasonably clean.

To get to Balos you need to drive along the northern coastal road past the town of Kissamos. then past the port of Kissamos (located 2.5km to the West of the town). About 1.5km after you pass the port take a right turn on a small road with a sign to Kaliviani. Pass through the village then keep following the road heading towards the North. The road will soon turn into a dirt road but contrary to what many say it is perfectly drivable for normal cars if you go slowly and pay attention to stones and pot holes. But bear in mind that if you damage your tyres or tne underside of the car this will probably not be covered by your car rental insurance.
Keep going on this very scenic dirt road for just under 8 km and you'll get to the end where you can park your car. This "car park" could be very full in summer and you might have to park some way away. From there follow the path to Balos, about 20 to 30 minutes easy walking down (it's less easy and much hotter coming back up).

Since 2013 (during the tourist season from April to October) there is a charge of 1 Euro per person levied by the municipality of Kissamos for the use of that road. This goes towards the maintenance and protection of the area.

This road can be busy because at times hundreds of vehicles might be going to Balos. So go slow and close your windows to avoid the dust.
There is currently (summer 2015) talk of banning cars and introducing a bus service between Kaliviani and Balos.

There is also a new (summer 2015) public bus service operating several times a day during the tourist season between Chania / Kissamos and Balos. Check the KTEL web site (or phone them) for details.

The main advantage of going by car is that you are independent of time-tables and that you could also go early in the morning to avoid the crowds (the main crowds will come via the boat excursions). Balos is far more pleasant when it is not crowded and even better in winter where it is totally empty of people. But of course you will not be able to visit the island of Imeri Gramvousa and its Venetian fortress unless you take a boat excursion.

The bulk of the visitors to Gramvousa and Balos will come by boat on a daily cruise trip. You can either drive to the port of Kissamos and take the boat there or book a tour from many locations in Crete. A bus will pick you up from your hotel, take you to the port and bring you back in the evening.

A visit by boat is very convenient and of course perfect if you like boat trips but bear in mind that you will generally be part of a big crowd (the largest boat can take up to 1200 passengers!) so you will not experience Balos at its best. But it's all a matter of taste and if mass tourism doesn't bother you it's a very good option.

Whilst it is possible to walk to Balos all the way from Kaliviani you will be walking over 8 km on a dirt road and unless you go in the winter months many cars will be passing you in a cloud of dust. Not a very nice experience.

An alternative could we to walk on a trail from Falasarna to Balos along the western side if the Gramvousa peninsula. This is a long (6-7 hours) and difficult walk.

You can also do a pleasant walk from the car park of Balos towards the northern tip of the peninsula, all the way to Cape Vouxa and the short channel of water that separates it from the island of Agria Gramvousa. The waymarked walk offers great views of Balos and the islands of Gramvousa and you will definitely escape the crowds.

If you are down by the beac h of Balos consider walking up to the flat top of the Tigani peninsula where you will get great views of the area.

The cruises only operate during the tourist season from April to October. Avoid stormy days where the boat journey could be pretty rough or also possibly cancelled.

The area is far more beautiful and atmospheric in the winter months where you could be the only person in the area. Failing this, if you want to enjoy some peace and quiet try to drive to Balos early in the morning. Once the boats arrive and disgorge many hundreds of day trippers on the beach you'll be fighting for space.

Bear in mind that the ascent back to the car park has no shade at all and can be extremely hot in the summer. It might be an option to wait until late afternoon to walk back up.

 

 

Photos of Balos and Gramvousa

Click on images to enlarge. Use the ► and ◄ to move forward or back or click again to close

  • The road to Balos
  • The road to Balos
  • Car park in the summer
  • Car roofs are comfortable for goats
  • Gramvousa mountain at sunrise
  • Sunrise boat ride in the lagoon of Balos
  • General view of the Bay of Balos and Tigani
  • View of the footpath down to Balos
  • View of the footpath down to Balos
  • View of the footpath down to Balos
  • General view of the Bay of Balos, Tigani and the islands of Gramvousa
  • General view of the Bay of Balos, Tigani and the islands of Gramvousa
  • Imeri Gramvousa
  • Imeri Gramvousa
  • Islands of Imeri and Agria Gramvousa
  • The Venetian fortress on Imeri Gramvousa
  • The Venetian fortress on Imeri Gramvousa
  • On the rocks between the beach and the peinsula of Tigani
  • On the rocks between the beach and the peinsula of Tigani
  • Chapel on Tigani
  • View of the coast from the top of Tigani
  • View of the coast from the top of Tigani
  • View of the coast from the top of Tigani
  • General view of the Bay of Balos and Tigani (in winter so no people)
  • General view of the Bay of Balos, Tigani and the islands of Gramvousa (in winter so no people)
  • General view of the Bay of Balos, Tigani and the islands of Gramvousa
  • The Balos lagoon
  • The lagoon of Balos
  • The lagoon of Balos
  • Early morning at Balos beach
  • General view from a mountain top
 

Photos of a boat excursion to Imeri Gramvousa

  • On the boat to Gramvousa
  • On the boat to Gramvousa
  • Following the coast of the peninsula
  • Ascending to the fortress
  • Ascending to the fortress
  • One of the boats anchored at Imeri Gramvousa
  • Ascending to the fortress
  • Old church within the fortress walls
  • Old church within the fortress walls
  • Visitors of the fortress
  • Visitors of the fortress
  • Looking down from the top
  • Looking down from the top
  • The crowds come back down
 

GENERAL INFOSERVICESACCOMMODATIONPROPERTYTOP DESTINATIONSEXCURSIONSWALKSPHOTOSSITE MAPADVERTISEEMAIL

 

Crete photo of the day
Crete Photo of the Day